The sacraments were instituted by Christ and were part of the Tradition of the early Christian Church.  There are seven sacraments in the Church: Baptism, Confirmation, Eucharist, Penance, Anointing of the Sick, Matrimony, and Holy Orders.

The purpose of the sacraments is to make people holy, to build up the body of Christ, and finally, to give worship to God; but being signs, they also have a teaching function. They not only presuppose faith, but by words and object, they also nourish, strengthen, and express it; that is why they are called "sacraments of faith." The sacraments impart grace, but, in addition, the very act of celebrating them disposes the faithful most effectively to receive this grace in a fruitful manner, to worship God rightly, and to practice charity.



It is very exciting to help our children begin to discover what it means to be a follower of Jesus, and in the process we come to know and understand God’s love and care in deeper ways ourselves. 

Read more



Confirmation results in the candidate becoming fully equiped with the Holy Spirit. The candidate must be in a state of grace to receive the sacrament, so to ensure this is so, Confirmation is often practiced alongside Baptism.

Read more



The Sacrament Reconciliation in which the faithful obtain divine mercy for the sins committed against God and neighbour and are reconciled with the community of the Church.

Read more



The Sacrament of Communion is a Holy Sacrament by which the believer eats the Holy Body and Precious Blood of Jesus Christ, presented by the Bread and Wine.

Read more



The sacrament of Confirmation  establishes young adults as full-fledged members of the faith. Recall then that you have received the spiritual seal, the Spirit of wisdom and understanding

Read more



The Sacrament of Anointing of the Sick is a special opportunity for the Lord's healing power to touch those who are experiencing an illness or the aging process.

Read more



The matrimonial covenant, by which a man and a woman establish between themselves a partnership of the whole of life, is by its nature ordered toward the good of the spouses and the procreation

Read more

©2020 Holy Family Church, Swindon